LDCN joins The University of Texas at Dallas

The Laboratory for Dynamics and Control of Nanosystems has moved to join The University of Texas at Dallas. UT Dallas is a highly innovative institution located in the heart of North Texas, USA, and is undergoing rapid growth as part of its vision to achieve Tier One national research university status.

LDCN will be operating as a part of the Department of Mechanical Engineering within the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering & Computer Science, and joins a strong group of world-class researchers. This move will provide LDCN with exciting new research opportunities within the field of nanotechnology, supported by a new research laboratory featuring state-of-the art equipment.

Zürich Instruments Awards Student Travel Grant

Michael Ruppert from the University of Newcastle, Australia, receives a student travel grant from Zürich Instruments AG (Switzerland),  for the work on atomic-force microscopy, where an HF2LI Lock-in Amplifier was used to verify the model of the tip-sample interaction: “Direct Tip-Sample Force Estimation for High-Speed Dynamic Mode Atomic Force Microscopy”, IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology, vol 13:6.

The Zürich Instruments student travel grant was awarded in 2015 for the first time to acknowledge the importance of meeting other scientists around the world. Michael will use the grant to visit the NC-AFM annual conference 2016.

Read more: Zürich Instruments newsletter

Dr. Yuen Yong receives awards for research excellence

Dr. Yuen Yong has been announced as a winner of two prestigious awards from the University of Newcastle, the Pro Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research Performance, and the Vice Chancellor’s Award for Research Excellence. These awards recognise Dr. Yong’s outstanding research contributions, and she is now a candidate for the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Researcher of the Year.

Read the full story here.


Mohammad Maroufi, Steven Moore and Michael Ruppert among the winners of faculty Postgraduate Research Poster Prize

Congratulations to Mohammad, Steven and Michael, who were judged to be prize recipients in the 2014 Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment Postgraduate Research Poster Prize competition. They were among 49 students who showcased their research via the presentation of a poster, with the judges selecting their work to be among the winning entries.

Mohammad Maroufi: High-Stroke SOI-MEMS Nanopositioner: Control Design for Non-Raster Scan AFM

Steven Moore: MEMS Simultaneous Actuation and Sensing Technique

Michael Ruppert: Novel Reciprocal Self-Sensing Techniques for Tapping-Mode Atomic Force Microscopy

Reza Moheimani awarded 2014 IFAC Nichols Medal

Congratulations to Professor Reza Moheimani, who has been awarded the IFAC Nichols Medal for 2014. The Nichols Medal is a highly prestigious award, awarded triennially by the IFAC council to recognize outstanding contributions of an individual to design methods, software tools and instrumentation, or to significant projects resulting in major applications and advancement of control education.
Professor Moheimani has been selected as the 2014 receipient “for fundamental contributions in systems science and control theory of direct relevance to engineering practice in high precision mechatronic systems”, and will be presented with the medal at the 19th IFAC World Congress in Cape Town, South Africa, in 2014.

Ali Mohammadi wins Postgraduate Research Prize for Electrical Engineering

August 2013

Congratulations to Ali Mohammadi, who is the winner from Electrical Engineering in the faculty’s 2013 Postgraduate Research Prize. Ali’s research, titled “A Feedback Controlled MEMS Nanopositioner for On-Chip High-Speed AFM”, was presented at a Research Showcase held on 21 October.