Reza Moheimani elected Fellow of the IEEE.

December 2010

Each year the IEEE Fellow Committee recommends a select group of recipients for one of the Association’s most prestigious honors, elevation to IEEE Fellow. The IEEE Board of Directors at its November 2010 meeting, elevated Reza Moheimani to IEEE Fellow, effective 1 January 2011, with the following citation: “for contributions to control of nanopositioning systems”

Dr Mehmet Yuce wins the 2010 Pro Vice-Chancellors Award for Research Excellence.

August 2010

These Awards aim to encourage and recognise the achievements of early and mid-career researchers. Research excellence is judged relative to career opportunity and candidates are judged by several criteria including: The originality of the research, the quality of the research output, the impact of research, success in attracting research funds, success in research higher degree supervision, peer recognition, and track record relative to opportunity.

Mr Anthony Fowler starts his Ph.D

July 2010

Anthony Fowler has commenced working toward his Ph.D with LDCNS. He is working on energy scavenging systems at the MEMS scale.

Mr Aaron Hammond commences his Ph.D

March 2010

Aaron Hammond has commenced working toward his Ph.D with LDCNS after graduating from the University of Newcastle in 2009. His research will be in the areas of MEMS and nanopositioning.

Joint Study Agreement Signed with IBM.

August 2009

A Joint Study Agreement has been signed with IBM Zurich Research Lab. The purpose of the research program is to develop new methodologies for fast nanopositioning.