Mohammad Maroufi, Steven Moore and Michael Ruppert among the winners of faculty Postgraduate Research Poster Prize

Congratulations to Mohammad, Steven and Michael, who were judged to be prize recipients in the 2014 Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment Postgraduate Research Poster Prize competition. They were among 49 students who showcased their research via the presentation of a poster, with the judges selecting their work to be among the winning entries.

Mohammad Maroufi: High-Stroke SOI-MEMS Nanopositioner: Control Design for Non-Raster Scan AFM

Steven Moore: MEMS Simultaneous Actuation and Sensing Technique

Michael Ruppert: Novel Reciprocal Self-Sensing Techniques for Tapping-Mode Atomic Force Microscopy

Reza Moheimani awarded 2014 IFAC Nichols Medal

Congratulations to Professor Reza Moheimani, who has been awarded the IFAC Nichols Medal for 2014. The Nichols Medal is a highly prestigious award, awarded triennially by the IFAC council to recognize outstanding contributions of an individual to design methods, software tools and instrumentation, or to significant projects resulting in major applications and advancement of control education.
Professor Moheimani has been selected as the 2014 receipient “for fundamental contributions in systems science and control theory of direct relevance to engineering practice in high precision mechatronic systems”, and will be presented with the medal at the 19th IFAC World Congress in Cape Town, South Africa, in 2014.

Ali Mohammadi wins Postgraduate Research Prize for Electrical Engineering

August 2013

Congratulations to Ali Mohammadi, who is the winner from Electrical Engineering in the faculty’s 2013 Postgraduate Research Prize. Ali’s research, titled “A Feedback Controlled MEMS Nanopositioner for On-Chip High-Speed AFM”, was presented at a Research Showcase held on 21 October.

Matthew Fairbairn awarded PhD degree

June 2013

Congratulations to Dr. Matthew Fairbairn, who has fulfilled the requirements of the PhD degree with his thesis titled “Feedback Control of the Atomic Force Microscope Microcantilever for Improved Imaging”. Matthew remains a member of the LDCN and is currently undertaking postdoctoral research.

Anthony Fowler wins faculty Three Minute Thesis competition

May 2013

Congratulations to Anthony Fowler, who has won the Three Minute Thesis competition hosted by the Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment with his talk titled “Energy Harvesting via Microelectromechanical Systems”. Anthony now advances to the University of Newcastle final, held on 26 July.

Michael Ruppert starts his PhD

April 2013

Michael Ruppert has commenced his PhD studies at LDCN. His research is related to the utilization of system theoretic tools in Multi-Frequency Atomic Force Microscopy and multi modal Q-control of cantilevers.

Reza Moheimani receives IFAC Mechatronic Systems Award

April 2013

Congratulations to Professor Reza Moheimani, who has been awarded the Mechatronic Systems Award by the IFAC Technical Committee on Mechatronic Systems. The award recognises his “outstanding contributions to design, fabrication, modeling and control of mechatronic systems for investigation and engineering of matter at the nanometer scale”, and was presented at the IFAC Mechatronics ’13 Symposium, held in Hangzhou, China, April 10-12.